## CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

## CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	81	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	126
Part II.—Machinery of Government	84	SECTION 1. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COM-	
SECTION 1. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT	84	MISSIONS, ETC	126
Subsection 1. The Executive	84	Section 2. Crown Corporations	134
Subsection 2. The Legislature Subsection 3. The Judiciary	89 101	SECTION 3. ACTS ADMINISTERED BY FEDERAL DEPARTMENTS	141
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL			
GOVERNMENTS	103	Part IV.—Federal Government Employ-	146
Subsection 1. Newfoundland Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island	104 105	ment	140
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	106	Part V.—Canada's External Relations	158
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	108	SECTION 1. DIPLOMATIC REPRESENTATION	
Subsection 5. Quebec	109	AS AT JAN. 31, 1960	158
Subsection 6. Ontario	111	SECTION 2. INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES.	
Subsection 7. Manitoba Subsection 8. Saskatchewan	113 115	1958-59	160
Subsection 9. Alberta	116	Subsection 1. Canada and Common-	
Subsection 10. British Columbia	117	wealth Relations	160
Subsection 11. Yukon and Northwest		Subsection 2. Canada and the United Nations	161
Territories	119	Subsection 3. Canada and the North	101
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT	121	Atlantic Treaty Organization	167
SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL		Subsection 4. Canada and the Colombo	
ROYAL COMMISSIONS	125	Plan	169

Note.—The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

## PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state was established by the British North America Act, 1867, which united the three British North American provinces of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into one country, divided into four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. British Columbia entered the Union in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. The Province of Manitoba was created in 1870 and the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905 out of portions of the territories formerly held by the Hudson's Bay Company which had been admitted to the Union in 1870. Newfoundland entered the Union in 1949. Canada now consists of ten provinces and two territories known as the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories.

The British North America Act of 1867 divided both legislative and executive authority between Canada and the provinces. Judicial authority was not similarly divided, federal and provincial courts having jurisdiction with respect to both federal and provincial laws.

Although the British North America Act of 1867 and its subsequent amendments is popularly regarded as the Constitution of Canada, it is not an exhaustive statement of the laws and rules by which Canada is governed. The Constitution of Canada in its broadest sense includes other statutes of the United Kingdom Parliament (e.g., the Statute of Westminster, 1931), statutes of the Parliament of Canada relating to such matters as the succession to the Throne, the demise of the Crown, the Governor General, the Senate, the House of Commons, electoral districts, elections, Royal Style and Titles, and also statutes of provincial legislatures relating to provincial government and provincial legislative assemblies. Other written instruments such as the Royal Proclamation of 1763, early instructions to Governors, Letters Patent creating the offices of Governor and Governor General, and Orders in Council passed pursuant to the British North America